PDA

View Full Version : Anyone heard of Monksell


Michael Hogan
Saturday 22nd November 2008, 15:33
Just wondering if anyone has heard or used the website Monksell.com. Prices are very very cheap and I know the old adage - if it looks to good to be true... But there are always exceptions (Ian Kerso for example - where I have bought all my kit is the best) and I am looking for a 5D at the right price.

Thanks

Michael

Overread
Saturday 22nd November 2008, 18:44
Just wondering if anyone has heard or used the website Monksell.com. Prices are very very cheap and I know the old adage - if it looks to good to be true... But there are always exceptions (Ian Kerso for example - where I have bought all my kit is the best) and I am looking for a 5D at the right price.

Thanks

Michael

whilst Ian is in scotland monksell appear to be in China
http://monksell.com/help.asp?id=2

I don't like the look of the site - it looks tacky to my. Personally I would stick to known good sources = might cost more but its worth it for peace of mind and actually getting the product.
ps - I thought Ian did canon bodies as well

Martin Thomas
Saturday 22nd November 2008, 18:50
I mist admit I've heard of them but there are many dealers like them in China. (Address: NO.40, WenHua Road,NanYang 473001,Henan Prov., China Zip Code:473001). If you want similar discounted prices then some of the more reputable Hong Kong dealers on EBay will be a lot less risky.

postcardcv
Monday 24th November 2008, 14:53
Just wondering if anyone has heard or used the website Monksell.com. Prices are very very cheap and I know the old adage - if it looks to good to be true... But there are always exceptions (Ian Kerso for example - where I have bought all my kit is the best) and I am looking for a 5D at the right price.

Blimey looking at those prices I'm sure it must be dodgy, I certainly wouldn't risk it. If you're after a 5D keep an eye on Canon outlet on ebay they seem to have a few refurb ones coming through.

gochasco
Monday 24th November 2008, 20:01
A 1D Mkll for 279 euros. Definately too good to be true.

lmans66
Wednesday 26th November 2008, 02:17
If you are on their site...the telephone dialing number is 86....= China.....

I am just guessing you are going to have a tough time if a warranty issue comes up!.... Same with most ebay purchases....stick with a reputable dealer as long as you are investing hard earned dollars.

Also, you can tell a site by some of their wording.... Under "About Them" they have various errors in punctuation etc....make reference to first person and such. Sounds like a 'garage' operation set up someplace along the Yangtze :-)

Watts
Wednesday 26th November 2008, 09:56
They say they are "wholesale".

From their "About us" page: "You know we do wholesales so you should order at least 3 items at one time then you will get that price on our site!if you order more than 5 you will get the vip price."

Bill

Tim Taylor
Wednesday 26th November 2008, 18:11
They say they are "wholesale".

From their "About us" page: "You know we do wholesales so you should order at least 3 items at one time then you will get that price on our site!if you order more than 5 you will get the vip price."

Bill
Maybe a few of us should club together and buy at VIP prices - we might look less daft if we fall for a scam in a group. ;)

lmans66
Thursday 27th November 2008, 00:53
They say they are "wholesale".

From their "About us" page: "You know we do wholesales so you should order at least 3 items at one time then you will get that price on our site!if you order more than 5 you will get the vip price."

Bill

Notice the way they (he, she) mix up their 'who is we"...sometimes they write "our" while other times "I" is written.... I'm telling you this has to be a backyard in the garage shop :eek!: