PDA

View Full Version : camera gear


jce
Sunday 4th January 2009, 10:12
I am looking to upgrade my camera gear and have come across a firm called "Scopes'n skies".Has anyone had any dealings with them.Are they reliable are their equipment grey imports,as they seem cheaper than any I'v come across.any info will be welcomed. many thanks

John

postcardcv
Sunday 4th January 2009, 10:50
I just had a quick look at them and can't see much camera gear on their website, looks to be more astro scopes and cheap birding optics. Looking at the prices for these things they seem to be about what you'd expect them to be. Perhaps you could put up a link to the gear you're looking at incase I've looked at the wrong site!

AC/DC
Sunday 4th January 2009, 10:53
I've seen them before, but typing scopes n skies in google comes up with a warning in a thread on an astro forum.

jce
Sunday 4th January 2009, 10:58
Sorry I got the wrong site, should have said "Bitesize deals".I must have still been asleep when I typed the thread.Would still appreciate any info.

John

RICHARD DAWKINS
Sunday 4th January 2009, 11:00
Same here postcardcv only a few things for digiscoping
Richard

postcardcv
Sunday 4th January 2009, 11:14
Sorry I got the wrong site, should have said "Bitesize deals".I must have still been asleep when I typed the thread.Would still appreciate any info.

John

Just had a quick look and there prices do look a little cheaper than most in the UK (though not by much) - try googling the company and you'll find a lot of negative feedback - try here for starters - http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.html?t=1346747

jce
Monday 5th January 2009, 11:25
Thanks to postcardcv for your reply I dont think ,after reading the forum on your link,that I will be using them.Will have to pay a little more to a reputable company in this country

John