View Full Version : Is this a genuine Minox?
Santi
Friday 9th January 2009, 02:22
8-25 power seems nice for the size.
The logo looks weird to me, but I'm new to binos, maybe it's an old logo?
http://img57.imageshack.us/img57/5550/realminoxtg8.jpg
Does Minox has this model?
Or is it a fake?
Thanks!
ceasar
Friday 9th January 2009, 07:24
I suggest, quite seriously, that it really doesn't matter if this particular binocular is genuine. With an 8x to 25x Zoom and 25mm objective lenses it will be very dim and have a very narrow Field of View. It is not very practical or useful. You will be much better off getting a straight 8 x 25 compact binocular. Zoom binoculars have earned their poor reputations.
Cordially,
Bob
davem
Saturday 10th January 2009, 22:23
This is a fake / passing off / etc whatever you want to call it and totally illegal.
As Caesar says, the optical quality from whoever made a compact bino would probably be poor with those specifications.
If ever you're in doubt about a model's authenticity, the manufacturer / brand's own website will have the current models on there for comparison.
HTH
Dave.
Kevin Purcell
Saturday 10th January 2009, 22:33
If ever you're in doubt about a model's authenticity, the manufacturer / brand's own website will have the current models on there for comparison.
But they don't keep older models ... which is a bit of a shame. Even Minox doesn't keep the recently discontinued but still widely availible bins. Adding the confusion recently over the BD and BD Asph, for example. So using the web site to distinguish between fakes and non-fakes is not so helpful ("Oh, yeah. It's not a current Minox model. From a couple of years ago", says the hypothetical seller.).
But I suspect a lot of bin makers don't have a great sense of history even the ones that have a great history. That's left to the amateurs.
Veracocha
Saturday 10th January 2009, 22:54
I too have seen these (exact pair) on a well known auction site. I can see no reason to suspect fake.
davem
Sunday 11th January 2009, 21:36
If you do ever suspect a fake (and there are LOTS out there, usually eminating from Gran Canaria with that logo in italics, and not like the straight edged Minox logo always has been) then drop info@minox.com an email along with a photo if you have one.
Admittedly, they do not keep every bino model details on the site but a quick search of their site does give bino details going back well over 8 years such as the 10x20 CP opera glasses.
Contrary to this they do seem to keep details of every digital camera they have ever put their name on for some unknown reason - I'll see if they would be interested in changing this around!
Santi
Wednesday 14th January 2009, 03:34
Thanks a lot. :)
Santi
Wednesday 14th January 2009, 03:34
Thanks a lot. :)
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.