View Full Version : Nikon D90 too good to be true?
Preacherman
Thursday 27th August 2009, 09:48
Hi Everyone
Need advice. I would like to start photographing birds and I have been looking at the Nikon D90 and the cheepest is around £800.00. However, I have found a company in Taiwan that is selling them for £200.00! I have always believed that a deal that seems too good to be true usually is. Has anyone bought from Taiwan? Are these deals genuine? The company says the reason they can put them out at this price is because they are wholesale distributors. I would appreciate any help before I spend £200.00 and end up with an emty box! Thanks and God bless.
PAUL
mike nesbitt
Thursday 27th August 2009, 10:02
Paul.
You've hit the nail on the head with the title of your thread. I doubt you would even get an empty box.
Check out somewhere like WE. that will give you an idea of the price you will pay.
Mike.
postcardcv
Thursday 27th August 2009, 10:35
definitely far too good to be true - that price is way way lower than wholesale, avoid it.
Derry
Thursday 27th August 2009, 17:30
send me the money and I will also send ya a photo of the camera,,|:D|
steer clear of any offering that low,,
Derry
Preacherman
Thursday 27th August 2009, 19:18
Thanks to you all. I've heard enough to put me off. Asking the Audience really worked. At least I can keep my 50/50 and Phone a Friend for another time!
God bless.
Paul
Fozzybear
Thursday 27th August 2009, 20:04
With there being such a huge price difference compared to the next cheapest you'd found elsewhere I'm amazed you thought there might be the slightest chance of it being legit really. Ok so sometimes you find something that's 'a bit' too cheap and sets of alarm bells but going from £800 to £200? :eek!:
Just use a bit of uncommon sense, if there's a big difference then it's not going to be that likely... the bigger the saving compared to all the other sellers the smaller the chance it will be real.
redeyedvideo
Thursday 27th August 2009, 21:18
Paul.
You've hit the nail on the head with the title of your thread. I doubt you would even get an empty box.
Mike.
And you would have parted with your credit card details.........:eek!:
nirofo
Friday 28th August 2009, 03:41
Hi Everyone
Need advice. I would like to start photographing birds and I have been looking at the Nikon D90 and the cheepest is around £800.00. However, I have found a company in Taiwan that is selling them for £200.00! I have always believed that a deal that seems too good to be true usually is. Has anyone bought from Taiwan? Are these deals genuine? The company says the reason they can put them out at this price is because they are wholesale distributors. I would appreciate any help before I spend £200.00 and end up with an emty box! Thanks and God bless.
PAUL
I don't know who you've found selling them for £800 when you can buy them almost everywhere in the UK for around £650 - £690. The £200 pound D90's must be body only, that is the body with no components inside!!! Stay well clear of this scam.
nirofo.
Mark Bruce
Friday 28th August 2009, 05:44
If they really had D90s at £200 they wouldn't be needing to sell them abroad. You can't get a D90 here for even double that.
Duke Leto
Friday 28th August 2009, 10:14
found a new body only for £629.00 from a camera specialist in the UK on ebay
Watts
Friday 28th August 2009, 10:16
Don't forget to check Camera Price Buster (http://www.camerapricebuster.co.uk/index.html) for best UK deals.
Bill
Preacherman
Friday 28th August 2009, 10:35
Thanks for that Bill, but I think pixmania.com look even cheaper.
PAUL
NoSpringChicken
Friday 28th August 2009, 10:51
Thanks for that Bill, but I think pixmania.com look even cheaper.
PAUL
Don't forget that Pixmania usually quote prices which are exc. VAT. By the time the tax is added they don't look so good.
Ron
speckled wood
Saturday 29th August 2009, 13:24
Reminds me of a friend who about 20 years ago told me that he had ordered a "professional" camera out of a magazine for £49.99. the camera that arrived looked like a big plastic SLR (and was branded "Optinocon") but turned out to be a very simple fixed focus, fixed apature, cheap camera encased to look a bit like an SLR. camera at a guess was worth about £2.
I suspect that you might get a camera but it won't be a Nikon D90 as we know it.
SW
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.