• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nikon Coolpix 5700 (1 Viewer)

cbgrfx

Hi there: My husband surprised me the other day with a Nikon Coolpix 5700. I had been toying over the idea of a new digital camera but I wasn't sure which would be best for me. I wanted to get close shots of the birds in my backyard.

I am an amateur photographer at best and this camera seems to be a bit overwhelming. I bought a book yesterday from Short Courses that is suppose to be fairly easy to understand and help with getting to know the 5700. The camera came with a 2x telephoto lens. I set the camera up on a tripod in my sunroom in from of the window.... the birds are about 50 feet away. I had everything on auto (focus and shutter speed), macro flower was clicked, and in the view finder the subject looked clear. I would click to take the shot, it would focus (slowly - half the time the birds moved) and then I would get a blurry photo. Is this camera not the greatest for taking bird photos. I love this site -http://www.angelfire.com/ky2/mamabird/index.htmls - her birds are so close, and crisp. She uses an Olympus C2100. Should we have gotten this instead? I'm a little bummed. Someone tell me that it's me and my lack of knowledge and not the camera.

Thanks!
Colleen

One more thing...

I mentioned I had the macro flower on, there's also an infinity option but that didn't focus at all. And I was reading somewhere on line to keep macro on even for long distance.. any comments on that?

I don't think the 5700 is the worst choice, Colleen.