View Full Version : Great Price Canon Lenses In Scotland
CANONROB
Monday 7th November 2005, 17:59
Hi
I have just bought three new Canon Lenses.
A 300 Prime F4L IS for £720 including Special Delivery.
A 70-200 F2.8 non IS for £710 including Special Delivery (Will be changing to IS) this is good but he has offered me fantastic deal on IS.
A 50mm Prime F1.8 Mk 11 for £70 including Special Delivery (THESE ARE OUT OF STOCK ALMOST EVERY WERE IN THE UK) Grab one as they will soon be discontinued.
The guy I bought from advertises on EBay and lives in Scotland, all lenses are new and with Canon warranty, he says he can supply ANY lens at very compatible prices.
They are not grey imports, they are the real thing.
His email address is kerso1123 'at' msn.com
Link to his EBay site, but if you email him he can do a better deal than on ebay, he also does a fantastic deal on C/Flash cards, I buy those of him to.
http://stores.ebay.co.uk/FLASH-CAMERA_W0QQssPageNameZviQ3asibQ3astoreviewQQtZkm
His name is Ian Kerr.
I hope you can get a bargain as I have.
Rob
tufty
Monday 7th November 2005, 21:56
Will you be changing your name to CANONROB from now on then !!!!!
Ragna
Tuesday 8th November 2005, 00:09
Rob thanks for the link ive just emailed him for the price of a Canon 400 5.6.
eskander
Tuesday 8th November 2005, 17:30
I think this may not be quite what it seems. The site says "note this lens will be sent from Scotland so no worry of taxes" which I assume means they are imports from somewhere. I think I picked up somewhere else that he is based in the US but sends the goods to his mother in Scotland who then sends them on. Doesn't mean it's bad deal though.
ApusApus
Tuesday 8th November 2005, 22:10
I agree with Tufty, sounds a bit flashy in a fishy sense!
undefinedWill you be changing your name to CANONROB from now on then !!!!!
CANONROB
Thursday 10th November 2005, 11:34
I think this may not be quite what it seems. The site says "note this lens will be sent from Scotland so no worry of taxes" which I assume means they are imports from somewhere. I think I picked up somewhere else that he is based in the US but sends the goods to his mother in Scotland who then sends them on. Doesn't mean it's bad deal though.
I know that he has a home in both Scotland and USA, (Lucky Man), if you email him your phone No. he calls you back on your landline, and yes the Lens's do come from USA, it is not just Lens's he sells, he does the new 5D for instance, but I have found that he is £50 more expensive on these than my other TOP FIRM (Warehouse Express), but if you speek to him on the phone he can do fantastic deals, and I can asure you that they are identical to UK spec.
As I have said earlier, competition on pricing is good for us buyers, and the one thing that I like is, good reliable service and price.
Rob
condyk
Sunday 18th December 2005, 14:57
I bought a 300mm IS L f4 off Ian and no problems. He's well respected on POTN Canon Forums. Get a receipt off him and use the Canon Rebate vouchers and save even more.
Ragna
Sunday 18th December 2005, 20:12
Condyk thanks for your post i've ordered a 400 5.6 off of him and am still waiting for it to arrive how long did it take for your lens to arrive. Thanks Graham.
F1F3R
Tuesday 27th December 2005, 23:56
i just recently purchased a canon 100 - 400 L from Kerso... really friendly emails and i picked up item locally. ( 2 minutes from my house so i saved on postage too ! )
great service and price ,so i know where i will be buying my future len'es.
Saphire
Wednesday 28th December 2005, 00:08
Do they have a web page forget this I didn't see the link
Ragna
Wednesday 28th December 2005, 01:09
Christine no he does'nt have a web site you deal with him direct.I ordered and paid for a Canon 400 5.6l from him (his name is Ian) about 3 weeks ago but as this is not one of the regular lenses that he get it seems to have taken a little while to source and i dont expect to get this lens untill the new year now.Will let you know when it arrives.
Saphire
Friday 6th January 2006, 15:30
Ragna have you received your lens yet
Ragna
Friday 6th January 2006, 23:48
Christine spoke to Kerso to day maybe here either tomorrow or next thursday as i may be away till thursday. Will let youy know when it arrives.
Saphire
Friday 6th January 2006, 23:49
Thanks Ragna
I am waiting for some input about the Sigma 80-400 OS lens
Ragna
Sunday 8th January 2006, 16:52
Received my Canon 400 5.6L from Kerso yesterday he include a Hoya UV filter in with it. Hes going to send on a receipt hopefully.Well worth the wairt .
Varanus
Monday 9th January 2006, 03:25
what kind of a deal did you get on the 400 5.6 ?
Ragna
Monday 9th January 2006, 13:53
Varanus £730 inc special delivery it took a while to get because of xmas and the new year.The best price i could find over here was £830 inc postage, prices on ebay used go for as much as this.If you order one let us know how you get on.
condyk
Monday 9th January 2006, 20:20
Glad your lens arrived safely Ragna and sotrry for taking so long to respond to your question. My delivery took less than a week because he had the 300mm IS L in stock in the UK.
Arguably his main competition is http://www.onestop-digital.com who I have also bought from in the past and been very happy. Ian will usually work hard to get and keep a customer and will at least price match the main HK based suppliers. He's always worth chatting to last, but do realise his margins are probably not that big so if we all want to keep buying at fair prices we need to treat him fairly too ;-)
Ragna
Monday 9th January 2006, 21:32
Condyk thanks for your reply i will certainly consider using Ian again, ive also looked at onestopdigital their prices seem good but would probabley use ian again if his prices were competative.
daymark
Thursday 29th June 2006, 11:03
I was after a Canon 400mm f/5.6 USM lens, and found several sellers on ebay.co.uk who were importing from the US and offering good prices. Looking for the catch, I asked them a load of questions and most stopped replying as my questions got awkward. Kerso responded positively and patiently to all my queries, which together with the good feedback on this and other forums gave me the confidence to take the plunge.
I posted him a cheque and the lens arrived from Scotland by Special Delivery the day after my cheque cleared. The lens is perfect, brand new with all the expected bits (caps, tripod mount, pouch, manual), Canon international warranty, and Canon box with barcode intact (some other sellers cut off the barcodes to claim the rebate!).
Perfect goods, great price, fast and informative service. Couldn't ask for more.
Cheers
David
JCL
Thursday 3rd August 2006, 16:27
Perfect goods, great price, fast and informative service. Couldn't ask for more.
00000000000000000000000000
I have had a good experience with ian kerr as well, having put nearly 5K GBP of business his way. All equipment bar one lens - 400 DO - arrived in perfect nick. That lens had a defunct IS and AF, which was obviously not Ian's fault, but may reflect something to do with the distance the lens had to travel. Ian was helpful in suggesting how to get it repaired under guarantee.
I will certainly do business with ian again.
James
danake2
Thursday 3rd August 2006, 21:22
Has anyone got a lens from him and then got money back from the Canon vouchers?
Adey Baker
Thursday 3rd August 2006, 23:28
All equipment bar one lens - 400 DO - arrived in perfect nick. That lens had a defunct IS and AF, which was obviously not Ian's fault, but may reflect something to do with the distance the lens had to travel. Ian was helpful in suggesting how to get it repaired under guarantee.
Seems dodgy to me- surely anyone selling new goods in this country is bound by the sale of goods act (or whatever it's called) to replace/repair anything that is faulty from new.
JohnZ
Friday 4th August 2006, 00:01
danake2, Although not yet having bought from Kerso myself I have read nothing but good reports about him on POTN, a Canon Forum. He is highly recommended by all who buy from him.
Adey, I believe that the majority of stuff sold by Kerso, over here, is imported from the US. Hence the prices. The prices appear to be pitched roughly between that which you would pay in the US and that which you would pay over here.
I also believe that as Canon lenses are covered by a worldwide guarantee should anything go wrong, within the guarantee period, then the lens would be repaired FOC. I would imagine that folks are attracted by the fairly substantial savings they can make buying from Kerso which, I believe, also include P&P. A very reasonable alternative to importing from the US yourself and then being hammered for VAT, Import Duty etc.
At the risk of repetition I have not bought from him myself but, from reputation alone, most certainly not dodgy.
Adey Baker
Friday 4th August 2006, 00:19
Caveat emptor, I believe, is the saying
Is he selling them as 'new,' in which case he is legally bound to abide by the laws of this country or is he buying them for himself and offering them at a premium from the price he paid, in which case the goods (though un-used) are actually secondhand?
baillieswells
Friday 4th August 2006, 10:02
Has anyone got a lens from him and then got money back from the Canon vouchers?
Yes. I made sure he sent me a receipt, with a MarkII 1.4 teleconvertor. Canon accepted this with the voucher, and I received the money.
MarkCaunt
Friday 4th August 2006, 12:55
Has anyone got a lens from him and then got money back from the Canon vouchers?
Where do you get these vouchers from?
Roy C
Friday 4th August 2006, 18:05
Where do you get these vouchers from?
Go onto the Canon UK website and follow the Latest Promotions > EOS Extra link
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.