• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Fill Flash (1 Viewer)

Tim N

I am fairly new at Bird Photography and recently started using an external flash.

My current setup is a Nikon D40 with a SB400 flash unit. This flash unit is too small for a flash extender like the "Better Beamer" etc. So, I assumed I should alter the flash level to +1 to get a longer reach with the flash.

However, all the articles that I have read suggest you lower the flash level to -1, or more, so that your flash just fills in the shadows and doesn't wash out the bright areas.

One fellow was explaining how he uses his flash extender - which I assume increases the flash on the bird - with a -1.5 flash setting - which I assume reduces the flash on the bird. I would have thought these 2 effects would cancel out.

Have I missed some basic thing or is it just distance? Set the flash for +1 when the bird is farther and to the minus setting when the bird is fairly close?

This will probably be a bit like the blind (Canon user) leading the blind but as no-one else has answered, I'll have a go.

When you use a flash extender you get a higher intensity of light at arriving at the target than the camera expects from the information it gets from the focus distance and light metering. Therefore, in order to use 'fill flash' with an extender, you have to dial in more negative flash exposure compensation than you would normally without the extender.

Have I missed some basic thing or is it just distance? Set the flash for +1 when the bird is farther and to the minus setting when the bird is fairly close?