• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

where to see green woodpeckers in cheshire UK (1 Viewer)

Moz-Junior

Young birder, not a full-time twitcher :))
Hello,

I have been birding for 6 months now, and I would love to see a Green Woodpecker.

Does anybody know where to find one (guaranteed) near Northwich, Cheshire, UK?

Thanks. :t:

moz

hi, im not from cheshire but i have been hearing many green woodies calling recently, and seen a couple aswell. there has been an explosion of them this year, and they're everywhere. learn the call, and you'll start hearing them a lot. get looking for them ASAP because march and april are by far the best months for woodpeckers.

Not sure about Cheshire specifically, but Green Woodpeckers feed on the ground, so like areas of turf or rough pasture. Places like golf courses, parks, paddocks etc are likely spots - particularly if there are trees around that they can fly up into if alarmed.

As has been said, learn the laughing call and you can't go wrong....the old country name for these birds is 'Yaffles' which gives you a pretty good idea of what they sound like.

Good luck.

Hi,

Thanks for that.

So the call is the give-away.

Cheshire birders - give me the best green woody site........... please.

moz

Marbury Country Park (Budworth Mere) in the horse paddocks as you do the circular walk. Listen out for the yaffling call. :t:

Good Luck

Phill.

Hi Moz,
As Sylvia says: Marbury is fairly reliable.
They can be elusive for such a big bird.
I also see them at Dunham Park, a little further from you.
H

Hi, :hi: