• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hello from London (1 Viewer)

Alastair Rae

London birder
Having a quick look around. Looks like a good site. Not sure about all the smilies, though!

I was referred here by an article on uk.rec.birdwatching. Having been reading that newsgroup since it started up, I'm sick of the way it has been hijacked by abusive people with axes to grind.

I guess that's the likely fate of any fully open forum. Moderated sites must be the way to go.

About me - my partner Ann & I have been birding for about 20 years. Bitten by the travel bug, we've just come back from a trip to Ethiopia. Africa is just the biz.

At home, we've been concentrating mostly on botany. But I've just got a new scope + digital camera so more birding in '03.

Welcome to the Forum Alistair.

You'll find novices and experts alike here who can give you some pointers with regard to digiscoping.

And rest-assured you will be given a warm welcome by all members - moreso than some cold, clinical newsgroup anyhow!

Look forward to reading your posts from London.

:t:

Hi Alastair,

Welcome to the Birdforum - I'll refrain from posting a smilie for you !

I think that you'll find that everyone on this site is of a pleasanter disposition than uk.rec.birdwatching. I still peruse the newsgroup, but as you say it has deteriorated over the last year or so. The abuse and flaming by one or two individuals who seem to have hijacked the group has spoilt the pleasure gained from using it. I no longer read the majority of postings. One or two other Birdforum members have found their way from there to.