• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Zeiss 65 (1 Viewer)

mickrb

Hi - I'm thinking of buying a Zeiss 65 with a 15-45x eypiece can anyone give me advice on what this scope is like for digiscping as I am a complete novice on the requirements for digiscoping. Thanks Mick

Not sure about digidscoping because I'd vitually stopped by the time I got mine about 5 yrs ago, but it is by far the best zoom on the market much brighter at a given mag than the swaro and much larger field of view. Ignore the fact it's not sharp at the edges ll scopes are like this it's just the other manufacturers blank this bit off so they can claim edge to edge sharpness, Zeiss see the benefit in having it, you pick birds up in the edge of he view and use the centre for looking at them, it really helps when scanning flocks or seawatching.

As for digiscoping as long as the camera is compatible I'd expect it to be very good, the 15x low end of the zoom shoud give an instant advantage over zooms that start at 20x.

G

Not sure about digidscoping because I'd vitually stopped by the time I got mine about 5 yrs ago, but it is by far the best zoom on the market much brighter at a given mag than the swaro and much larger field of view. Ignore the fact it's not sharp at the edges ll scopes are like this it's just the other manufacturers blank this bit off so they can claim edge to edge sharpness, Zeiss see the benefit in having it, you pick birds up in the edge of he view and use the centre for looking at them, it really helps when scanning flocks or seawatching.