• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Would I have seen these? (1 Viewer)

David S.

Hi All,

I just spent a long weekend down on the West Sussex coast near Climping and would appreciate a sanity check from any local birders as to whether I might have indeed seen what I thought I saw (e.g. these species are/have been seen in the area at this time of year). I'm a relative beginner to birding so these are by no means rarities or species for anyone other than a beginner to get excited about! I always try and ID birds I haven’t seen before by myself but the views of all of the following were compromised by time or distance so any corroboration appreciated!

Atherington: 8th Aug, 3pm
Common Gull? Yellow bill, yellow legs, black eye, gliding up and down beach like a Herring Gull. Didn’t get good view of wing tips.

Elmer: 11th Aug, 4pm
Sandwich Tern? Single bird, about size of a Black-headed Gull, sitting amongst Oystercatchers on granite breakwater. Partial black cap (white showing on forehead) black bill with light tip

Dunlin & Sanderlings? Mixed group of 40+ birds scrambling over seaweed mounds (along with Turnstones). ‘Dunlins’ about size of Starlings. Very variable though black belly patch is a clincher? ‘Sanderlings’ were very small, not much bigger than a hen chick. Short black straight bill and legs. Retreated from tide then ran back with each wave.

Wheatear? Single bird about size of a Robin. Sat (rather than stood) on a large pebble on the beach. Warm browny-buff all over with faint white supercilium or perhaps eye stripe. Juvenile?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Cheers,