• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Beijing - Brown Eared Pheasant (1 Viewer)

Richard Klim

-------------------------
My wife and I are considering a trip to NE China in May 2010, but we need a local guide to help us find Crossoptilon mantchuricum in Beijing Municipality.

Thanks for any advice.

Richard

Wish I had some hot tips for you - only know the name that I've heard is Jesper Hornskov who lives in Beijing. Sorry I've had no direct experience nor know his contact info, but he seems to be familiar with birds in the area (his name is on many reports and he is a tour leader in China).

Perhaps others will have more ideas...

Hi Richard,

Very difficult bird to see though I have seen it at Xiaolongmen, very good birding and still it appears, one of the best localities for this species. Suggest you contact Li Ming, username xiaoming for advice as he has good contacts within China Bird Report team perhaps Liu Yang.

Mark

Thanks Gretchen & Mark.

I'd already asked Jesper. But he reckoned that although Xiaolongmen was a reliable site until quite recently (I know that Dave Showler and Tim Allwood saw them there in 2005), there's now heavy road traffic at the site, making success unlikely even with a couple of hard days' fieldwork.

Richard

Richard,

If you find out a good site away from this thread could you post it here or PM me - There is a possibility that Pete Morris and I may be looking for them late May next year.
Cheers, alan

Richard,