• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

stability of carbon tripods? (1 Viewer)

lima

I currently have Kowa TSN-823 angled scope + CP4500 and now need a tripod. I am totally new to scopes and digiscoping. As I live over 200km from the city I can't get to try them out so I'm relying on the net for most of my research. Do the lightweight tripods flex under the weight? Are there any particular features I should be looking for in a tripod besides weight? The 443 gets good reviews but costs $A804 (1.6kg) compared to Pro190NAT at $A306 (2.2Kg). The Pro190 is only 1.7kg so is it important to get a natural green colour? The shop I rang recommended the MF200 head with a load of 4.5kg. Is this OK?
Lima

You have to remember that the use of carbon fibre in tripods isn't solely to make them lighter in total weight...what it does allow, as it is so light, is for the wall thickness of the legs to be considerably thicker and thus allow far better vibration dampening.

If money isn't a particular concern, you'd be looking at the Gitzo mountaineer range of carbon tripods, together with one of their Fluide heads.
On a tighter budget you could go for that Manfrotto carbon together with the pro501 head. Substitute the 501 head for the Manfrotto 128rc head to cut the price down further.
Certainly look for a tripod with varying leg angles to allow you to work at very low levels (which most of the good legsets have these days)
Regards,
Andy

Hi Lima,