• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Swarovski Digital Camera Base (1 Viewer)

dutchderk

Does anyone have any experience with this type of digiscoping adapter? It's the one that flips up your camera. I think it might be very useful if you can switch quickly between camera and normal view. I'm not experienced at all so correct me if I'm wrong. I'm going to use it with a coolpix 4500.

Thanks in advance for your replies!

the cons with this adapter is that you have the digital camera permanently mounted to the scope. I prefer to have the camera proteced in a small bag and mounting it quickly when to take the photo. For the coolpix4500 i think there are better and cheaper alternatives.
This one is easy, quick and cheaper than the swarro adapter:
http://www.cyberphoto.se/kikare/focus/adapt.php
(only works for the ATS20-60Zoom eye piece and there are models for the zeiss and leica zooms as well)

Last edited:
gorank said:
the cons with this adapter is that you have the digital camera permanently mounted to the scope. I prefer to have the camera proteced in a small bag and mounting it quickly when to take the photo. For the coolpix4500 i think there are better and cheaper alternatives.
This one is easy, quick and cheaper than the swarro adapter:
http://www.cyberphoto.se/kikare/focus/adapt.php
(only works for the ATS20-60Zoom eye piece and there are models for the zeiss and leica zooms as well)