• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Opticron Is 60 (1 Viewer)

MARK225

Hi to everyone I’m new to birding and have just got a new OPTICRON IS 60 as it was all I could afford as I only work part time I paid £220 + £25 for a tripod, with a (40918s)18-45x eyepiece, I’m very happy with it at low magnification at 20x but would like to know if a more powerful fixed eyepiece say a 72x (40861s) or a 50x (40817s)would work well with the IS 60 better than the (40918s)18-45x eyepiece so I could do a little star gazing as well, thanks mark.

PS, what are your opinions on the IS60, is it a good scope. ;)

I don't know about star-gazing, but I think you have a fine scope for birding. Hope you find plenty with it! Opticron scopes are great value and offer a very clear image.

The IS60 is a cracking little scope to start out with - a nice light scope with excellent optics. I would say that neither of the fixed lenses you'd mentioned would be any good for birding - the magnification would be too high you would get a lot of shake and the light gathering would be poor. A fixed eyepeice with a mag of about 25x may be useful as the field of view will be wider than on the zoom, which is great for general viewing (and also digiscoping).

it's a great light scope that won't get on your nerves weightwise as you carry it round.

eyepiecewise, you might like to try a fixed mag at 20x or 30x if Opticron do one - it's always a temptation to want a high magnification but they nearly always become redundant as people prefer the larger brighter image of the lower fixed mag.

Tim Allwood said: