• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Advice needed urgently on sound recording equipment (1 Viewer)

Grus21

Hi everyone,

I'm a research student working on bird vocalisations, and I am currently trying to purchase a recording unit and microphone for use in my fieldwork.

Previously I have used a Marantz PMD660, and got on with it quite well, so am considering buying the updated Marantz PMD661. I was wondering whether anyone had any opinions about this recording unit and whether there is anything else that I could look into instead of this particular make and model? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I also need to buy a very good quality microphone. My work involves recording bird vocalisations outdoors, often at a distance (generally between 10 and 25 metres, but sometimes closer) and in moderately windy conditions. Vegetation is generally sparse and low in height, so causes minimal problems with recording. The vocalisations of the birds I work on have a fundamental frequency range of between 1 and 6kHz, however harmonic overtones reach above 22kHz. My main requirement is to get clear sonograms at a distance with minimal background noise from the equipment or wind.

I have been looking into Sennheiser microphones, however these may be outside my price range. Any alternative makes/models or even suggestions of where to buy second hand microphones would be great.

Many thanks in advance for your help!