• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Newbie question on equipment (1 Viewer)

Ursinus

Sorry for the novel - I tried to be concise
---
Hello all, I'm new and would greatly appreciate some expert feedback. I'm a professional nature photographer, and I'm new to audio recording. I will be recording birds, weather, mammals, ambient nature. I work a lot in isolated wild areas in the tropics that are fantastic for noise-pollution-free audio, and also in Western US wetlands. I don't have a huge budget. I've outfitted myself with the following to get started:

1. Sony PCM-M10 recorder
2. Rode NTG-2 shotgun mic
3. Pearlstone DUSM-1 Shockmount
4. Pearlstone LMT100 xlr to minijack
5. Rode WS6 dead cat (the good one apparently)
6. Sennheiser HD 280 pro headphones
7. Pearlstone Hand Grip

I edit with Sony Vegas and Sound Forge

First impressions are the Sony is very quiet but of course struggles to pick up faint or distant ambient sounds. The Rode is quiet too and does its job well. I shot some video in the past, and associated audio, with a Canon XH-A1 video camera and a $300 Sennheiser shotgun and this setup seems much quieter. My questions are both basic and specific.

So, my questions: