PDA

View Full Version : Jacamar Migration

Shelby B
Thursday 27th May 2004, 02:33
Greetings all,

My daughter needs some help with a school project she is writing about Jacamar. I made a few attempts to find the information on the internet when I stumbled across this website. Pretty neat website!

Anyway, I was wondering if anyone could direct or help me find the size and migration patter of the Coppery Chested Jacamar? Any help or direction would be helpful!

Thank you,

Shelby and Mercedes

KC Foggin
Thursday 27th May 2004, 02:47
Hi Shelby and Mercedes and a warm welcome to you from the entire staff here at BirdForum.net. It is a pretty neat website isn't it ;)

I have no knowledge of the Jacamar and I don't see where one has been added as of yet to our database but we have several members from Central America I believe if you give them a chance to check out the forums tomorrow, I'm sure you will get some answers. Unless of course your daughter is like mine was. "The report is due tomorrow mom" ;)

Dave B Smith
Thursday 27th May 2004, 03:19
Well, y'all certainly picked a tough one! I'm in Mexico and have only seen our local Jacamar, the Rufous-tailed Jacamar. They are beautiful birds.

Most of the info I'm finding on the web for your Coppery-chested Jacamar is in Spanish. I did find a photo at this link: Coppery-chested Jacamar (http://animaldiversity.ummz.umich.edu/site/accounts/pictures/Galbula_pastazae.html)

I also found from 'Endemic Bird Areas of the World' by Stattersfield et al, 1998 that it is endemic to his region designation 044, Ecuador-Peru East Andes, which includes the countries Ecuador, Colombia and Peru.

I also found one good range map at the following link: Range Map and info (http://www.natureserve.org/infonatura/servlet/InfoNatura?searchName=Galbula+pastazae)

The above link also gives other good info on this bird. It appears that it is a permanent resident in its range all year; ie does not migrate.