• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Starlings in San Francisco (1 Viewer)

stephancharbit

Hi there, I'm a graduate design student and I'm currently doing research project on non-native species.

I'm interested in how starlings colonize habitats and kick out native bird species, and would appreciate any pointers to information on where and how this has happened in the bay area.

I wondered if anyone could tell me where the best place is to find Starlings in the city or nearby - does anyone know of any starling roosting areas in and around the city?

Thanks for any replies!

Stephan

I am not local - in UK infact where there are millions of starlings. I have just come back from San Francisco and certainly saw some in Golden Gate Park, however not in very big numbers.

Regards
Chris

Hi Stephan -
I am not in the Bay Area, but I am in Northern California. I have worked with wood ducks where we check nesting boxes and starlings occasionally drive out the wood ducks. The starlings are smaller than wood ducks, but will drive out a wood duck to build their own nesting coil (literally a coil of dead grass/leaves that they wind up into a bowl). We regularly check the nesting boxes, so when we find a nesting coil we remove the grass and the blue eggs or baby starlings. If the nest was placed over wood duck eggs (the nest is made from dry wood shavings and down feathers) the wood duck will sometimes return and resume nesting in the box.