PDA

View Full Version : See Toh's 2012 Singapore list


SeeToh
Tuesday 3rd January 2012, 03:18
First day of birding in the late afternoon around the northern part of Singapore (Neo Tiew Lane 2, Kranji Nature Trail and Sungei Buloh) on January 2nd:

1. Javan Myna
2. Common Myna
3. Black-naped Oriole
4. White-bellied Sea Eagle
5. White-breasted Waterhen
6. Yellow-vented Bulbul
7. Asian Glossy Starling
8. Spotted Dove
9. Red-breasted Parakeet
10. Lesser Whistling Duck
11. Brown Shrike
12. Little Tern
13. Lesser Coucal
14. Red-collared Dove
15. Osprey
16. Ashy Tailorbird
17. Common Sandpiper
18. Collared Kingfisher
19. Common Greenshank
20. Whimbrel
21. Little Egret
22. Common Redshank
23. Pacific Golden Plover
24. Marsh Sandpiper
25. Great Egret
26. Pacific Swallow

SeeToh
Wednesday 4th January 2012, 02:07
Did some birding in the evening (3 Jan) at a carpark with some scattered trees (Harding Road) while waiting for my wife:

27. Lineated Barbet
28. Common Hill Myna
29. Brahminy Kite
30. Pink-necked Green Pigeon

SeeToh
Thursday 5th January 2012, 01:21
Visited a stream in the central catchment forest on Jan 4 (evening) but only managed to spot 2 specie:

31. Short-tailed Babbler
32. Siberian Blue Robin

SeeToh
Thursday 5th January 2012, 16:27
Made a trip down to Singapore Botanic Gardens in the evening of 5 Jan and got the following:

33. Rock Pigeon
34. Red-legged Crake
35. Orange-headed Thrush

SeeToh
Friday 6th January 2012, 14:33
January 6, 2012

On the way to work, got the following:

36. Eurasian Tree Sparrows
37. House Crow
38. Cattle Egret

Sighted these two specie when visiting a forest trail in our Central Catchment Forest (Venus Drive) in the evening:

39. Emerald Dove
40. Greater Racket-tailed Drongo

SeeToh
Saturday 7th January 2012, 14:20
January 7

Climbed up the highest hill of Singapore (ie Bukit Timah Hill) this morning with the hope of adding the rare non-breeding visitor Rufous-bellied Eagle into my 2012 list. Unfortunately, it appeared before I reached the hilltop and did not show up again. Nevertheless, got the following instead:

On the hilltop
41. Germain's Swiftlet
42. Asian Brown Flycatcher
43. Crimson Sunbird
44. Scarlet-backed Flowerpecker
45. Fork-tailed Swift
46. Red-rumped Swallow
47. Blue-rumped Parrot (flew past in a flash)

Down the hill at Hindehe Quarry
48. Striped-tit Babbler
49. Blue-throated Bee-eater
50. Pied Fantail

Bukit Batok Nature Park
51. Purple-throated Sunbird
52. Grey-rumped Treeswift
53. Barn Swallow
54. White-crested Laughingthrush
55. Lace Woodpecker
56. Banded Woodpecker

SeeToh
Sunday 8th January 2012, 04:41
January 8

Tried my luck at an open grassland at Jurong West Street 22 this morning and got the following:

57. Paddyfield Pipit
58. Zitting Cisticola
59. Zebra (Peaceful) Dove
60. Common Snipe
61. Blue-tailed Bee-eater
62. Scaly-breasted Munia
63. Painted Snipe
64. Asian Palm Swift
65. Intermediate Egret

Made a short trip to the coastal mudflat at Seletar Dam in the evening and sighted:

66. Lesser Sand (Mongolian) Plover
67. Peregrine Falcon
68. Grey Heron
69. Little (Straited) Heron

SeeToh
Monday 9th January 2012, 13:43
January 9

A short visit to Pulau Punggol in the north-eastern part of Singapore in the evening yielded the following:

70. House Swift
71. White-throated Kingfisher

SeeToh
Tuesday 10th January 2012, 14:10
January 10
Visited Bukit Batok Nature Park and got:

72. Glossy Swiftlet (Lifer)
73. Straw-headed Bulbul

SeeToh
Sunday 15th January 2012, 13:12
January 14 - Seletar Dam (Coastal mudflat located in the north-eastern part of Singapore)

74. Greater Sand Plover
75. Dollarbird
76. Asian Koel
77. Common Black-headed Gull

SeeToh
Tuesday 17th January 2012, 01:19
January 16

Chek Jawa at Pulau Ubin

78. Olived-backed Sunbird
79. Great Crested Tern
80. Grey Plover
81. Lesser Crested Tern
82. Great-billed Heron
83. Red Junglefowl
84. Brown-throated Sunbird
85. Olive-winged Bulbul

Pasir Ris Park

86. Collared Scops Owl

SeeToh
Wednesday 18th January 2012, 05:40
January 18 - Bidadari

87. Common Iora
88. Ashy Minivet
89. Common Flameback
90. Black Baza

SeeToh
Thursday 19th January 2012, 13:21
January 19 - Singapore Botanic Gardens

91. Common Kingfisher

SeeToh
Friday 20th January 2012, 05:51
January 20 - Goldhill Avenue

92. Common Tailorbird
93. Changeable Hawk Eagle
94. Blue-crowned Hanging Parrot
95. Rainbow Lorikeet

SeeToh
Sunday 22nd January 2012, 12:37
January 22

Sengkang

97. Black-browed Warbler
98. Yellow Bittern
99. Black-crowned Night Heron
100 Oriental Reed Warbler
101. Rusty-rumped/Pallas's Grasshopper Warbler (Lifer)
102. Yellow-bellied Prinia
103. Black Bittern

West Coast

104. Large-billed Crow
105. Arctic Warbler
106. Oriental White-eye

Bishan

107. White Wagtail (SG lifer)

SeeToh
Monday 23rd January 2012, 08:41
January 23

Pasir Ris Park

108. Oriental Magpie Robin
109. Mangrove Pitta (Near-threatened globally but endangered in Singapore)
110. Oriental Pied Hornbill
111. Chinese Pond Heron

Seletar Dam

96. Malaysian Plover

SeeToh
Tuesday 24th January 2012, 03:01
January 24

Kranji Marsh

112. Purple Swamphen
113. Common Moorhen

Neo Tiew Lane 2

114. Javan Munia
115. Baya Weaver

West Coast

116. Sunda Pygmy Woodpecker

SeeToh
Wednesday 25th January 2012, 14:24
January 25 - Lower Pierce Reservoir

117. Dark-necked Tailorbird

SeeToh
Thursday 26th January 2012, 17:13
January 26

Singapore Botanic Gardens
118. Wandering Whistling Duck

Bukit Timah Hill Summit

119. Rufous-bellied Eagle (juvenile)
120. Red-eyed Bulbul
121. Blue and White Flycatcher (first-winter male)
122. Forest Wagtail
123. White-throated Rock Thrush (female)
124. Rufous-tailed Tailorbird

SeeToh
Saturday 28th January 2012, 14:16
January 28

Changi Grassland

125. Black-shouldered Kite
126. Long-tailed Shrike
127. Common Buzzard
128. Black-headed Munia
129. Yellow-fronted Canary

Tanah Merah Newater Plant

130. Red-watled Lapwing

Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve

131. Copper-throated Sunbird
132. Stork-billed Kingfisher
133. Milky Stork

SeeToh
Sunday 29th January 2012, 09:27
January 29

Jurong West

134. Pintail Snipe
135. Savanna Nightjar

Bukit Batok West

136. Grey Wagtail

SeeToh
Monday 30th January 2012, 15:27
January 30 - Lornie Trail @ MacRitchie Reservoir

137 - Little Spiderhunter
138 - Cream-vented Bulbul

SeeToh
Tuesday 31st January 2012, 06:22
January 31

Venus Drive

139 - Black-crested Bulbul

Goldhill Avenue

140 - Long-tailed Parakeet
141 - Tanibar Corella
142 - Sulphur-crested Cockatoo
143 - Japanese Sparrowhawk (female)
144 - Crested Goshawk (Immature)

SeeToh
Sunday 5th February 2012, 14:23
February 3

145 - Asian Pied Starling
146 - Yellow Wagtail

February 5

Mount Faber

147. Crow-billed Drongo
148. Citron-crested Cockatoo (the smallest of the Yellow-crested sub-species)
149. Ashy Drongo - leucogenis sub-species (Lifer)
,
Bidadari

150. Oriental Honey Buzzard

West Coast

151. Pied Triller

Jurong West

152. Blue-breasted Quail

SeeToh
Monday 6th February 2012, 13:42
February 6

153. Watercock

SeeToh
Tuesday 7th February 2012, 14:21
A big thank you to the viewer who rated this thread.

February 7 - Goldhill Avenue

154. Coopersmith Barbet

SeeToh
Thursday 9th February 2012, 06:53
February 9 - Mount Faber

155. Drongo Cuckoo

SeeToh
Saturday 11th February 2012, 13:50
February 11 - Venus Drive

156. Orange-bellied Flowerpecker

SeeToh
Sunday 12th February 2012, 04:21
February 12 - Central Catchment Forest

157. Blue-winged Leafbird
158. Thick-billed Green Pigeon
159. Asian Fairy Bluebird

SeeToh
Monday 13th February 2012, 13:45
February 13 - Lower Pierce Reservoir

160. White-rumped Shama
161. Red-crowned Barbet

SeeToh
Wednesday 15th February 2012, 01:31
February 14 - Sungei Kadut

162. Siberian Stonechat
163. Wood Sandpiper

SeeToh
Thursday 16th February 2012, 01:36
February 15 - Pasir Ris Farmway 3

164. Purple-backed Starling (also known as Daurian Starling)
165. Javan Pond Heron assuming breeding plummage (Lifer)

SeeToh
Friday 17th February 2012, 19:37
February 17 - Goldhill Avenue

166. Crested Serpent Eagle

Lorong Halus

167. Rosy Starling (Lifer)

SeeToh
Saturday 18th February 2012, 15:22
February 18 - Lorong Halus

168. Purple Heron
169. Little Grebe
170. White-browed Crake
171. Sooty-headed Bulbul
172. White-headed Munia
173. Little Ringed Plover

SeeToh
Wednesday 22nd February 2012, 06:25
February 22 - Bidadari

174. Ruddy Kingfisher
175. Hodgson's Hawk-cuckoo
176. Golden-bellied Gerygone

SeeToh
Friday 24th February 2012, 14:50
February 24

Bidadari

177. Large Hawk-cuckoo

Lorong Halus

178. Chestnut-winged Cuckoo

SeeToh
Sunday 26th February 2012, 07:57
February 26 - Changi Grassland

179. Chinese Sparrowhawk (Two adult female)
180. Eastern Marsh Harrier (One adult male)
181. Little Bronze Cuckoo
182. Pied Harrier (One adult female & one juvenile)

Attached photos were shot by my DSLR birding pal Francis Yap using a Canon 300mm f/2.8 lens. Birds in flight are beyond the ability of my digiscoping setup.

SeeToh
Monday 27th February 2012, 03:40
February 14

183. House Sparrow (Lifer)

SeeToh
Tuesday 28th February 2012, 06:17
February 28 - Singapore Botanic Gardens

184. Jambu Fruit Dove (male)

SeeToh
Friday 2nd March 2012, 13:50
March 2 - MacRitchie Reservoir

185. Buffy Fish Owl

SeeToh
Sunday 4th March 2012, 12:05
March 4 - Tanah Merah Grassland

186. Large-tailed Nightjar
187. Barred Buttonquail

SeeToh
Thursday 8th March 2012, 16:20
March 8 - Pasir Ris Farmway 3

Year bird is getting more difficult to find nowaday.

188. Black-capped Kingfisher - uncommon winter visitor to Singapore.

SeeToh
Saturday 10th March 2012, 15:16
March 10 - Jelutong Tower

189. Chestnut-bellied Malkoha

SeeToh
Tuesday 13th March 2012, 14:03
March 14 - Hindhede Quarry

190. Blue-eared Kingfisher
191. Grey Nightjar

SeeToh
Thursday 15th March 2012, 06:13
Mrach 15 - Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

192. Brown Hawk-owl

SeeToh
Saturday 17th March 2012, 05:32
March 17 - Central Forest

193. Greater Green Leafbird
194. Black-headed Bulbul

SeeToh
Sunday 18th March 2012, 10:13
March 18 - Rifle Range Link

195. Yellow-rumped Flycatcher

SeeToh
Tuesday 20th March 2012, 08:50
March 20 - Tanjung Penjuru

196. Pacific Reef Egret (dark morph)

SeeToh
Saturday 24th March 2012, 07:04
March 24 - Bukit Batok

197. Grey-headed Fish Eagle

SeeToh
Wednesday 28th March 2012, 06:58
March 28

Bidadari

198. Cinnamon Bittern (flight shot by my friend using his DSLR camera and expensive telephoto lens)

Venus Drive

199. Mugimaki Flycatcher
200. Greater Coucal
201. Blue-winged Pitta

SeeToh
Friday 6th April 2012, 15:25
April 6 - Changi Coastal Walk

202. Black-naped Terns

SeeToh
Tuesday 10th April 2012, 02:47
April 9 - Kent Ridge Park

203. Red-whiskered Bulbul

SeeToh
Sunday 15th April 2012, 15:20
April 15 - Along the Straits of Singapore

204. Common Tern (Lifer)
205. White-winged Tern
206. Aleutian Tern

SeeToh
Sunday 22nd April 2012, 15:11
April 22 - Pulau Semakau

207 - Tiger Shrike

Sorry for the out-of-focused shot of the female Tiger Shrike in breeding plummage.

SeeToh
Monday 23rd April 2012, 13:20
April 23 - Venus Drive

208. Abbott's Babbler

SeeToh
Tuesday 1st May 2012, 12:28
May 1 - Rifle Range Link

209. Chestnut-winged Babbler

SeeToh
Sunday 6th May 2012, 05:32
May 6 - Jelutong Tower

210. Lesser Green Leafbird (Singapore Lifer)

SeeToh
Monday 7th May 2012, 14:31
May 7 - Lorong Halus Wetland

211. Rusty-breasted Cuckoo

SeeToh
Saturday 12th May 2012, 15:39
May 12 - Jelutong Tower

212. Rufous Woodpecker

SeeToh
Sunday 13th May 2012, 04:28
May 13 - Neo Tiew Lane 2

213. Banded Bay Cuckoo

SeeToh
Friday 18th May 2012, 12:50
May 18 - Lorong Halus

214. Slaty-breasted Rail

SeeToh
Tuesday 19th June 2012, 07:41
June 19 - Sentosa

215. Chinese Hwamei (lifer)

SeeToh
Saturday 30th June 2012, 06:14
June 30 - Lorong Halus Wetland Reserve

216. Plaintive Cuckoo
217. Streaked Weaver
218. Common Waxbill
219. Horsfield Bronze Cuckoo - Adult (lifer)

SeeToh
Monday 2nd July 2012, 15:19
July 2 - Lorong Halus Wetland Reserve

220. Ruddy-breasted Crake

SeeToh
Saturday 7th July 2012, 07:38
July 7 - Pulau Hantu

221. Pied Imperial Pigeon (attached image shot by my birding pal Francis Yap)
222. Mangrove Whistler (lifer)

SeeToh
Thursday 12th July 2012, 07:08
Jan 22 - Sengkang Riverside Park

223. After much consideration and research, I finally come to the conclusion that the small brownish leaf warbler-shaped bird I saw on Jan 22 was a Dusky Warbler (rare winter visitor/passage migrant to Singapore).

I was not so sure of the ID then as there were many Black-browed Reed Warblers (somewhat similar looking but slightly bigger than Dusky and with a black-browed) feeding at the same location and I could not get a photo of the bird.

Although I am aware that Black-browed Reed Warblers can be commonly found at the location, the first thought that come to my mind when I saw this bird was Dusky Warber from size, shape/color and feeding manner. But my confidence was shaken as I do not have photographic evidence of this rare visitor. Furthermore, no photos were taken of this bird even though many photographers visited the park during that period with the intention of shooting Black-browed Reed Warblers, Oriental Reed Warblers and Pallas Grasshopper Warblers, etc.

The Dusky Warbler was actually sighted by fellow BF member Viator at the same place on Jan 24.

SeeToh
Tuesday 17th July 2012, 04:17
Jul 16 - Venus Drive

224. Brown-streaked Flycatcher

SeeToh
Saturday 4th August 2012, 17:22
Aug 4 - Garden at the Bay East

225. Common Barn Owl

SeeToh
Sunday 5th August 2012, 07:13
Aug 5 - Seletar Dam

226. Masked Lapwing

SeeToh
Thursday 9th August 2012, 10:41
Aug 9 - Pasir Ris Park

227. Spotted Wood Owl

SeeToh
Friday 31st August 2012, 02:03
Aug 30 - Seletar Dam

228. Terek Sandpiper

SeeToh
Saturday 1st September 2012, 13:24
Sep 1 - Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve

229. Black-tailed Godwit

SeeToh
Sunday 2nd September 2012, 14:24
Sep 2 - Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve

230. Curlew Sandpiper
231. Red-necked Stint

SeeToh
Saturday 15th September 2012, 12:18
September 15 - Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve

232. Broad-billed Sandpiper

SeeToh
Tuesday 18th September 2012, 02:47
September 17 - Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve

233. Bar-tailed Godwit

SeeToh
Wednesday 19th September 2012, 15:50
September 19 - Seletar Dam

234. Sanderling

SeeToh
Monday 24th September 2012, 02:51
September 23 - Straits of Singapore

235. Swinehoe's Storm Petrel
236. Bridled Tern

Attached photos shot by birding friend.

SeeToh
Monday 24th September 2012, 08:22
September 24 - Venus Drive

236. Eastern Crowned Warbler
237. Asian Paradise Flycatcher

Image of the warbler is by my birding friend.

SeeToh
Wednesday 26th September 2012, 15:11
September 26 - Former Bidadari Cemetery

238. Brown-chested Jungle Flycatcher

SeeToh
Friday 28th September 2012, 12:57
September 28 - Lower Pierce Reservoir

239. Oriental Dwarf Kingfisher (Black-backed Kingfisher)

SeeToh
Saturday 29th September 2012, 14:55
September 29 - Venus Drive

240. Ferruginous Flycatcher

SeeToh
Monday 8th October 2012, 14:56
October 8 - Lorong Halus

241. Whiskered Tern

SeeToh
Sunday 14th October 2012, 11:17
October 14 - Seletar Mudflat

242. Sand Martin
243. Oriental Plover

SeeToh
Tuesday 16th October 2012, 06:58
October 16 - Former Bidadari Cemetery

244. Indian Cuckoo

SeeToh
Saturday 20th October 2012, 14:44
October 20 - Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

245. Dark-sided Flycatcher

SeeToh
Monday 22nd October 2012, 02:46
October 21 - Seletar Dam

246. Rose-ringed Parakeet

SeeToh
Monday 22nd October 2012, 06:56
October 22 - Former Bidadari Cemetery

247. Siberian Thrush

SeeToh
Wednesday 24th October 2012, 06:53
October 24 - Former Bidadari Cemetery

248. Japanese Paradise Flycatcher - female

SeeToh
Friday 26th October 2012, 14:56
October 26 - Sungei Buloh Wetland Reserve

249. Chinese Egret

SeeToh
Saturday 27th October 2012, 12:17
October 27 - Lorong Halus Wetland Reserve

250. White-shouldered Starling

SeeToh
Sunday 28th October 2012, 14:55
October 28 - Straits of Singapore

251. Parasitic Jaeger
252. Lesser Frigatebird - female

SeeToh
Sunday 4th November 2012, 07:32
November 4 - Seletar West

253. Booted Eagle - dark morph

SeeToh
Saturday 10th November 2012, 08:43
November 10 - Changi Grassland

254. Oriental Pratincole
255. Pin-tailed Whydah (non-breeding male - escapee)

SeeToh
Tuesday 13th November 2012, 13:17
Novembet 13 - Changi Grassland

256. Jerdon's Baza

SeeToh
Thursday 15th November 2012, 05:43
November 15 - Former Bidadari Cemetery

257. Hooded Pitta

SeeToh
Saturday 17th November 2012, 13:23
November 17 - Former Bidadari Cemetery

258. Green-backed Flycatcher - female

SeeToh
Thursday 22nd November 2012, 12:44
November 22 - Former Bidadari Cemetery

259. Oriental Cuckoo

SeeToh
Friday 30th November 2012, 10:56
November 30 - Lorong Halus

260. Black Drongo

SeeToh
Saturday 1st December 2012, 04:52
December 1 - Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

261. Eyebrowed Thrush

SeeToh
Tuesday 4th December 2012, 06:14
December 4 - Former Bidadari Cemetery

262. Malayan Night Heron

SeeToh
Tuesday 4th December 2012, 12:21
December 4 - Pulau Punggol Barat

263. Small Pratincole

SeeToh
Thursday 6th December 2012, 13:42
December 6 - Pulau Punggol Barat

264. Black-winged Stilt

SeeToh
Saturday 8th December 2012, 05:59
December 8 - Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

265. Brown-backed Needletail

SeeToh
Wednesday 12th December 2012, 13:47
December 12 - Pulau Punggol Barat

266. Baillon's Crake

SeeToh
Wednesday 26th December 2012, 02:36
December 23 - Bukit Timah Nature Reserve

267. Yellow-vented Flowerpecker