• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Recording ID's (1 Viewer)

Pileatus

"Experientia Docet”
United States
Greetings,

The topic of carrying a notebook came up in another thread and I was wondering how many people carry recorders instead of paper and pencil. I'm not an artist so I find it much easier to simply record what I see and then write it down later. I can actually record while viewing, which is a real advantage.

I need to replace my heavy, old-style tape recorder with a digital version. If anyone has a recommendation in this area I'd appreciate your comments.

John

Digital Voice recorder

Hi John

I've got a refurbished Olympus VN 3600 digital voice recorder.

They're being advertised on Amazon in the US for $45 - although I got mine from a UK supplier and it was 99.9% "as new" - about half the price compared to when it was in the shops here.

Although it doesn't have a USB connection (I don't need to save copies of messages on disc), it has a decent amount of recording time in standard quality mode (forget the long play mode - awful sound) and the quality is very good - better than a higher spec. Sony ICD P28 model that boasts over 15 hours recording time (will you really need that much...?) and which is around double the price of the Olympus.

The Olympus is nice and small, so it's very "pocketable".

I suggest you read the reviews on Amazon to get some more input.

Hope this helps...

Regards

Jeff.

I use a fairly old dictaphone when I'm doing patch work, mainly because I tend to lose count of Blue Tits, Woodpigeons etc if I don't.