• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Where to start? (1 Viewer)

turnman2004

Hi

I'm new to digiscoping. I dont' have a scope yet. I have a Nikon coolpix 990 I would like to spend around $1500 canadian on a scope.

I'm looking for websites that have reviews and comparisions. I have been looking at a Bushnell Elite 20-60 x 80 mm for $950. Seems to be the only type I can test myself.

If anyone had any info on scope dealers in the Ottawa Canada area I would appreciate it.

Thanks

Hello turnman and a warm welcome to BirdForum from those of us on staff here.

I might be a bit prejudiced, but if you check the archives in our digiscoping forum, I don't think you can find better information of what each scope is capable of by the users themselves. Good luck.

Hi Turnman
Being from Ottawa myself I can tell you the only place you can really see a scope is Focus Scientific, at Clyde and Merivale. Even then, the models in stock are very few.. the Elite, maybe a couple of Nikon Spotters. No one has scopes in stock to try out, believe me, I tried!