• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help for a digiscoping novice (1 Viewer)

senatore

I would like to take up digiscoping but I have no knowledge at all and need advice.
I have a Leica televid APO 62 with a with a 32WW lens.I also have a Fujifilm S304 digital camera.
Can I use this camera with the televid scope or will I need to buy a Leica camera?
I know I will need to get an adapter but is this from Leica or from Fujifilm? Do I need anything else? :frog:

Hi senatore,

Nice to hear you fancy the challenge of digiscoping. Its a very rewarding pursuit. Be prepared for initial disappointments, it seems its part of the deal. I cant really comment on the equipment your pairing together, but you will find tons of good advice and suggestions in this thread: http://www.birdforum.net/forumdisplay.php?f=243

All the best for your project, and i wish you many, many rewarding shots. Perseverance and patience are vital requirements, oh and a good sense of humour helps....;)

Look forward to hearing how you get on,

Tom

Hi Senatore,

There are some very accomplished digiscopers on this forum, and they might know more about your specific equipment.

My advice is to try the camera against the scope hand-held, and play about with the camera's zoom until you lose the vignetting (black circle round the edge). Do this on a stationary object in your garden.