• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Unknown Bunting - can anyone help? (1 Viewer)

Doug

This bunting (I presume it is a Bunting) was observed at Donna Nook on the 10th Feb - feeding on the shore marsh. Snow and Lapland Buntings are here at present but I have never seen either before and I dont think this looks like either according to the Collins Guide but I am a newbie. What is your opinion please. I have another equally bad shot I will attach to another message. Thanks for your help!

PS Sorry forgot to attach photo to previous post!! It isn't a Twite is it, on reflection?

Attachments

• donna nook 10.02.03 023.jpg
    donna nook 10.02.03 023.jpg
    677.1 KB · Views: 341
Here is the other picture of my unknown

Attachments

• donna nook 10.02.03 021.jpg
    donna nook 10.02.03 021.jpg
    687.3 KB · Views: 335
My apologies for the file size - I took it at full resolution and have tried saving it in various other formats but all, including gifs etc turned out bigger than the original -can we upload zipped files?

Not too white for a Skylark? Having said that the air was full of them on the day but this bird seemed so much lighter?

Doug,

FWIW, I too think it's Skylark, but as Steve hints, the files are a little on the large size.

Check out Andy Bright's Digiscoping Forum for advice on reducing file size while retaining image detail. What image processing software do you use at present ?

Tony