• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Underexposed in bright sunlight (1 Viewer)

Colin C

Help Needed. Please can anyone tell me what's the best way in adobe to treat underexposed shots like this ie bird against a bright background.

Attachments

• kestrelue.jpg
    kestrelue.jpg
    27.9 KB · Views: 222
Colin C said:
Help Needed. Please can anyone tell me what's the best way in adobe to treat underexposed shots like this ie bird against a bright background.

I am not very good at this but all I have done is move the middle slider in Levels to brighten it up a bit. There could be a lot more done this was just a quick fix.

Attachments

• kestreluea.jpg
    kestreluea.jpg
    105.3 KB · Views: 207
Problem

Hi There,
Because the shadow area is so dark there is a not a great deal you can do really as there will not be any detail there.
It is particularly important with Digital cameras (if that's what you used) to allow for backlight. I allow at least one stop, but sometimes 2.
However, the shot you took is still quite appealing.

Cheers,

madmike

Colin C said:

Lovely shot
Here's my effort, but this is using the shadow/highlight control in Photoshop CS. This retains contrast. Bringing up the shadow too much gives a very b&w look in comparison to the glorious golden sunlight on the bird's other side.

cheers,
Andy

Attachments

• kestreluefix1.jpg
    kestreluefix1.jpg
    99.3 KB · Views: 234