• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Do all binoculars give a wavy view when scanning? (1 Viewer)

lvn600

I'm relatively new at birding. I wanted a new pair of bino's that would be a little bit of an upgrade(without paying 1000+ dollars) and ended up getting a $300 pair of swift929G 8x42 roof prisms. They give a real nice view if you are looking for birds hiding in bushes(6.6 close focus) and a pretty good view if you are looking at a bird just sitting up in a tree at a distance. The problem i have however is when i am scanning a line of trees in the distance there is a real wavy/curvy effect that i don't like. Are there other binoculars that don't do this? Why is this happening? I would appreciate some input-Thanks-Larry from CT. U.S.A.

Hi Larry,

The problem optics manufacturers have is that they can't correct every defect in each piece of glass in their product. Design one effect out and another rears its' ugly head!

You'll find a similar thing with the Nikon SE and they are very highly thought of because they correct other defects so well.

There are many that don't display this effect but they usually have other effects that you may not like.

Try scanning a little slower and just use the centre field without moving your eyes too much, it might help to minimise it.

The effect is, I think, pincushion or barrel distortion. The experts will, I'm sure, drop by later to give us the lowdown on this!

Cheers,

Andy.