• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

UV filter opticron es 80 ed (1 Viewer)

Hi, i have just bought an opticron es 80 ed scope. This is my first scope and i know nothing about them.
I am a complete novice, and i am a little unsure on a couple of things.
1. Would a uv filter for the scope to protect the lens, in any way effect the clarity of the scope ?
2. What size filter i would need for it ?
3. Could anyone recomend a uv filter ? ( i am guessing that some are better than others for quality)
4. Wheres the best place to buy one from ?

Thanks for any help.

Hi, and welcome to Birdforum.

I've never heard of anybody using a protective filter on a scope, and I've never thought of using one myself. On the scope that you've bought (good choice, by the way) there's an inbuilt hood that offers quite a bit of protection to the front lens - enough for me, at least.

Any piece of glass added to an optical system will degrade the image somewhat. And small scratches to the front lens will also degrade the image - but not as much as you might imagine. Somebody on a photography forum suggested a good demonstration of this. Get a small piece of Post-It pad (about 2x4mm should do) and stick it to the front lens - then look through the scope. See much difference? So a small scratch would be almost totally invisible.

I don't know if you can buy a filter to fit the scope - but it'd be around £50 for a decent one.