• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

pics of adult male ruby-throated on perch from new member (1 Viewer)

standard

http://tinypic.com/b6r609.jpg
http://tinypic.com/b6r7g4.jpg

hi, folks,

here's a couple pics of an adult male ruby that's been perching near the window feeder lately.
my name is stan, and I'm in downtown nashville, tn. I'm in a southbound migrating lane, I think. very little activity in april, may, june here, but constant turnover from july 10th-oct 10th. I've been feeding hummers and growing flowers for 2 years. my parents have been feeding hummers for 20 years in rochester, ny, and I worked on a vegetable farm for 2 years in high school, so I'm not entirely new to either. I'm glad to see some old friends here, and hope to correspond with some new ones.

I recently had a 'first.' a juvie ruby drank from the feeder while I was holding the feeder in my hand! it was thrilling! I had just walked outside with a freshly filled feeder, and one came right to me and hovered. I froze motionless, and it fed from 2 of the ports and checked me out in between sips. this went on for maybe 15 seconds until we were both divebombed by an adult male. I love this time of year!

thank you, birdlegs, for referring me here. I got hung trying to register, but the admin here was helpful. very patiently helpful, thanks.

glad to have found you all, friends.

standard
(stan)

Hi Standard and a warm welcome to you from those of us on staff here at BirdForum :t: