• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

clean lenses (1 Viewer)

postie

as i am new to birding could someone tell me the best method of wipeing clean lenses i didn't want to scratch them so i thought i would ask if there maybe special fluid and wipes for doing so.
thank you
roy

postie said:
as i am new to birding could someone tell me the best method of wipeing clean lenses i didn't want to scratch them so i thought i would ask if there maybe special fluid and wipes for doing so.
thank you
roy
i always carry johnsons baby wipes,i can stuff three or four in a 35mm film case and they stay moist for weeks!.then just buff with a piece of tissue paper.good for mucky mitts as well.matt

Get a microfibre lens cloth for general cleaning.A puff of your breath & a wipe with cloth will suffice.If they're really dirty or have salty water deposits use some isopropyl alcohol.Make sure you've blown any grit off before wiping.You'll find all you need at your local camera shop. Tom.

There is a handy little cleaning cloth called "Spuds" that is attached to and fits into a 1 inch square little bag that you can carry around clipped to your bino strap. Make sure you blow off any grit on the lens before you use it and refrain from using it except when absolutely necessary. Lens's should not be routinely cleaned as frequent cleaning can damage the coating on them.

ceasar said: