• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Zeiss Dialyt 10x40b - Waterproof? (1 Viewer)

jonathanbarnaby

I keep reading mixed messages abouit the waterproofness of Zeiss Dialyt 10x40b's (1988). I've been using these , well since 1988, but I am hesitant to take them on tropical forest expeditions and take some Pentax DFC SP's instead (these have always been fine until stolen!). What do people think about taking Zeiss into testing tropical conditions?

Never had any problems with mine and they have certainly got very wet but I switched to Swarovski 8.5 better for my eyes. My problem was foggy glasses not fogging binocs in steamy conditions.

jonathanbarnaby said:
I keep reading mixed messages abouit the waterproofness of Zeiss Dialyt 10x40b's (1988). I've been using these , well since 1988, but I am hesitant to take them on tropical forest expeditions and take some Pentax DFC SP's instead (these have always been fine until stolen!). What do people think about taking Zeiss into testing tropical conditions?

I wouldn't hesitate for a second to take the Zeiss 10x40's anywhere at any time. They're not nitrogen purged, but are o-ring sealed. Do a search on Zeiss homepage and you'll find they guarantee all of their binos to be completely fog and waterproof.

I'll bet there's no other binocular that has been used in more harsh climates over the years than the Zeiss 10x40 "ClassiC's". They've earned a reputation from Africa to Alaska and all points in between as being tough and waterproof, and eventhough they're a bit dated design, they're still the glass all others are judged against....