• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Digital slr camera advice for a novice. (1 Viewer)

senatore

I am a complete camera novice and am thinking of going down the DSLR route for birding photos( the digiscoping route has been ruled out as too fiddly and slow for me).I have seen the Nikon D50 mentioned in other threads and would like to know if it's any good?

I have read some of the DSLR threads and not really understood them but I have gleaned that I will need a telephoto lens and a converter ( is that the word) to get a anywhere near even a close bird.

If I bought the D50 body and say a Sigma 70 - 300 lens to go with it would I be an idiot? Is there any other combinations that I should consider?

My budget is £500 - £600.Any advice to prevent me adding to the list of poor purchases would be much appreciated.

Max.

The D50 is a little gem, Max.

It's well known for its ability to provide punchy, vibrant, low noise images straight out of the camera (albeit at the theoretical expense of some loss of detail - but I truly don't see it), and you need only look at Greypoint's gallery for an idea of the D50's capabilities.

She is rather good though..!

;)

The lens is a tougher call, but the Sigma 70-300 APO is probably as good as it gets in your price range ("APO" indicates that a better quality of glass - "ED" glass - has been used in the construction of the lens).

Some of Yossi's postings have demonstrated what it can do, and I always pull this link out if anyone doubts how good a lens it can be!

http://www.pbase.com/ccraft/image/34529964