• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Poor images with EOS350D + Opticron GS665 (1 Viewer)

Hi,
I'm new to DSLR and digiscoping and have just bought an EOS 350D,
Opticron GS665, T-mount and Opticron Telephoto Adapter.

I think I've connected it up correctly, camera-tmount-adapter-scope.

I've tried the camera on Manual and Progam AE but can't seem to get a
good focus. When looking through the viewfinder it looks fine. But the
depth of field seems very small and most of the picture is out of
focus when I zoom in.

According to the scope documentation it should be 900mm/f13.5 but the
camera shows f0.0, I assume that's because the camera can't 'talk' to
the lens. Do I need to do anything to tell the camera that it is a
f13.5 lens ?

Does anyone have any tips on using this combination ?

Thanks, Bob
:stuck:

Welcome to Birdforum, Bob.Are you using an eye-peice ?I also have the same camera but an ES80 scope coupled to a tele-adapter and T-mount but use an HDF 23x eyepeice.

Henry B said:
Welcome to Birdforum, Bob.Are you using an eye-peice ?I also have the same camera but an ES80 scope coupled to a tele-adapter and T-mount but use an HDF 23x eyepeice.