• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Bushnell power view (1 Viewer)

si654

Anyone used these bins powerview 8x42, there are loads going cheap on ebay, i am not a new birdwatcher but i'm new to buying bins..
I just birdwatched without any before now..
I bought the wrong ones i made the mistake of buying some praktica ones 20x50 opting for power another mistake from argos which i though were good beacuse they were made in germany.. cant even see throught them probally better viewing if you used them the wrong way round lol..
i know poeple are gonna say buy the best you can afford but my budget doesn't stretch that far at the minute..
T.I.A Simon

Last edited:
Aren't they the old design with the triangular focus knob? If so, they were truly aweful. Don't be a fool twice.
Can you go to a store and try any bins? what is your budget? How much being asked for the powerviews? Northwest, is that the USA? Canada? England?? It will help us conclude what bins are available in your market....
You are better off buying an inexpensive modern design than an inexpensive historical design from Ebay.... Have you tried the Nikon Action EX, costing about $100? At least try them in a store to see what you can get by going to that price range. the very least, you willl have a standard by which to judge the $50 bins....

jedku said:
Aren't they the old design with the triangular focus knob? If so, they were truly aweful. Don't be a fool twice.