• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sound recording and sonograms – an absolute beginner (1 Viewer)

Capercaillie71

I have always considered sound recording and sonograms to be the expensive preserve of a technically-minded few. However, as a result of reading other threads on birdforum (particularly this one - http://www.birdforum.net/showthread.php?t=65692) I have become interested in the use of these techniques for bird identification, and in particular for the identification of the different types / species / subspecies of crossbill.

I thought it might be of help to others starting out in this field to share my experiences as an absolute beginner, trying to find a way of sound ID without breaking the bank. Hopefully, more knowledgeable people may also be able to provide me with advice as I proceed.

I should state at the outset that I am not looking to produce high quality sound, just usable recordings. I am trying to do this on a budget, because a) I have limited time available to spend in the field so an expensive set-up could not be justified in terms of the likely outputs and b) if I (with my total lack of experience) can get a cheap set-up to work it might encourage others to take up the challenge and add to our knowledge of crossbills and other species.

The equipment

Obviously, first of all, I needed a microphone and some sort of recording device. After reading one of griffin’s posts I bought an Audio-Technica ATR 55 for about £60 including P&P. This is a shotgun microphone designed for use with camcorders and has two settings (telescopic and normal).