• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Recorded bird calls: which reaction? (1 Viewer)

gmax

Sontium Dweller
Since I'm a complete beginner to bird sounds and calls, I'd like to know among European birds which ones are more sensitive/reactive to recorded calls (for example I noticed that robins react quite well) ... I'd like to start using calls when out in the open (mainly marshes/swamps/wetlands) where bird numbers are rather low ...
Any suggestion on basic equipment to be used? Watt power?
Thank you for your help
Max

gmax said:
Any suggestion on basic equipment to be used? Watt power?
Thank you for your help
Max

Before getting some gear you might want to think about whether this is something you should be doing as a beginner. You will find both points of view presented on http://birderblog.com/post.php?id=1146 and the attached article.

I had thought that playback was a peculiarly US disease and maybe the birds and cultural norms were different there. In Europe is has been discouraged as the hallmark of the lazy and impatient. However, the recent Autumnwatch on the BBC had Simon King calling in tawny owls with a ghetto blaster and lamping them with a torch. This was apparently all right according to other BFers as people could use the technique to show their kiddies owls, bringing up a new generation of birders by lighting their nascent passion for the natural world. The ends justify the means in this case it seems. Clearly the 'minimise disturbance' principles of sound recordists have changed of late, and the Sound Approach to Birding guys also didn't think it was an issue.