• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Could I have some fungi help please (1 Viewer)

Richard

27.11.06: Since originall posting this message yesterday I have managed to id two out of the three!
Just leaves one - could it be Tricholomopsis Rutilans (Plums and Custard)

"I am new to fungi and have recenty bought reference books by Phillips and by Jordan. Yet I cannot manage to id any of the following which I thought would be straight forward. Taken in south Notts.

"There were quite a few of these on the edge of a path. I have just noticed two small bonnets in the picture as well!

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Richard

Attachments

• Fungi4712.jpg
    Fungi4712.jpg
    190.6 KB · Views: 113
Last edited:
Richard said:
27.11.06: Since originall posting this message yesterday I have managed to id two out of the three!
Just leaves one - could it be Tricholomopsis Rutilans (Plums and Custard)

"I am new to fungi and have recenty bought reference books by Phillips and by Jordan. Yet I cannot manage to id any of the following which I thought would be straight forward. Taken in south Notts.

"There were quite a few of these on the edge of a path. I have just noticed two small bonnets in the picture as well!

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Richard

Hi Richard,

Never expect fungi to be straightforward! Especially not if you have photographed them. I find photographing any 'unknown' immediately reduces the chance of it ever being identified afterwards. I am sure there must be a Murphy's Law on the subject.