• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Urgent Help Needed For Another Complete Novice! (1 Viewer)

Hello good people
I`m a new member, and I am about to purchase a Swarovski 65HD scope with zoom eyepiece and a Coolpix 4500, having read various recommendations from those experienced digiscopers amongst you. I am however concerned over a few points:
1 I anticipate using my car as a hide - I have a window mount an a ball head. If I buy the angled scope, once the adaptor and camera are fitted, would there be enough room between the eyepiece and the car roof (a normal height car) to get your head above the camera? Or would a straight scope be better?

2. I`ve read that the Spidertech do an adaptor for the zoom eyepiece that enables you to use the zoom with the adaptor still in place. However I gather it is only made for the ATS, not the STS.
With the 4500`s own zoom, is there any differenece in picture quality using say the scope on 30x and the camera on "zero" zoom, as compared with the scope on 20x and the camera on 1.5 times zoom? Mathematically this gives the same magnification. If the picture quality is still the same, would this allieviate the need to get at the zoom if usig an STS?

3. Re focusing, once you have focused your scope, do you let the camera autofocus on what it sees, or is it better to put the camera on manual? If so, how is manual focus actually achieved on the 4500?

I `d be extremely grateful for any responses, especially any prompt ones, as I may be "splashing out" this weekend!!

Many thanks in advance
Monte
Email: [email protected]

Hi Monte