• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Angled vs Straight Body (1 Viewer)

fortraniv

Hello everyone!
I am a newbie to the scope world and going to buy my first one for birding and looking at the Nikon ED 82mm.

I was thinking that the angled body would be best for birding, but am having trouble finding the Nikon in the angled body at the sites I normally shop. I also just read the thread on this forum on whether these are being discontinued. I can get a good deal on the straight body with the eye piece I want....my concern is that I may regret not having the angled.... will this be a pain in the neck ;)

I would appreciate any thoughts on angled body versus straight body.

Thanks!

PS. I'm so glad to find this forum and lots of catching up to do going through the threads.

i prefer straight body actually.
for me it's helpful to have a direct sight line with target plus i don't think you would pick up as much glare with straight.
that's just me though.

Some thoughts that might help.
Straight scope is better for getting on the bird quickly and is easier for using in a hide or car window mount.
Angled is better for sharing with people of different heights, you can use it with the tripod lower so it's more stable and it is better for looking up into trees you don't have to kneel down to look through it, some say angled is better for digiscoping but I don't really see why.
I use an angled scope for the ease of sharing.

Mick