• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

setting up a website (1 Viewer)

herring99

Hi all,

how do i go about setting up a website where i can post trip reports and digiscope pictures? I have no experience of doing this type of thing and don't know where to start. Any info about what i need to do or where i need to go to start this would be appreciated.

All the best

HerringB :)

Who is your ISP? They should provide you with web space, usually up to about 20mb free of charge or included in which ever package you have.

The first thing you need to do is create your web site on your own computer. For this you will need to aquire software such as Microsoft Frontpage. Learn how to use the software, design and create your site, make sure it works on your computer.

When you are happy with it, you need to copy it onto your ISP web space. For this you need to use an FTP tool. I use Ipswitch, which can be downloaded free from the web, or your ISP may provide their own FTP tool.

Before you do too much work, I would see if your ISP has any info on creating web sites,

Colin

Hi Herring,
I use Microsoft Frontpage as well. With it being in the microsoft family, it has a familiar interface so is quite easy to use. We set up a website in January this year using it and I had only basic computer knowledge prior to it. My ISP was excellent - they talked me through the uploading of the site but it soon becomes second nature. You do need to talk to your ISP re what it supports - we imported a counter from elsewhere as the Frontpage counter wouldn't work.