• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Learn common bird song and calls (1 Viewer)

ColinD

United Kingdom
I've been birding now for around 35 years, since I was 10. My birding career so far could probably be divided into three phases. The first was from the age of 10 to about 20 (1972 - 82). I spent all of my time birding alone or with my Dad. It was only a semi-serious hobby for me. There was no Rare Bird Alert, no Bird Forum, and I wasn't part of the grapevine which existed at the time. I didn't know any other birders. My life list was probably about 150 by 1982, and if we wanted to see anything different, we based our descision on where to go on distribution maps in bird identification books.

Then in 1982, I entered the second phase. I bought "Bill Oddies Little Black Bird book" and was amazed at what was going on. A few months later I joined the local Birding group, made lots of friends my age, and began twitching. The second phase lasted until about 1988, and my UK life list increased to about 330, I visited a lot more places in the UK, and went on my first birding holidays abroad.