• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Books for a complete Beginner in Wildlife Photography (1 Viewer)

Peewit

Once a bird lover ... always a bird lover
Hi there

I hope I have this subject in the right place on the Forum ;)

Has anyone any recommended books on Wildlife Photography that are ideal for total beginners like me.

My partner has just bought a book titled 'RSPB Digital Wildlife Photography' by 'David Tipling'. Is this suitable for us, or is it too far ahead for us at the moment?

This Forum has inspired us both to learn about this subject now.

I have yet to read this book, and digest all of the information. There is quite a bit of reading too, but it will be worth it. :-O

We also have to purchase a camera to suit too, but all in good time. :-O

Thanks

I read David Tipling's book recently - I'd say it is a pretty good starting point as it gives an overview of most important areas. I would have liked to see a bit more on using the camera's metering modes more effectvely (and I'm not sure I agree with his assertion that centre-weighted mode is best) and some more on exposure compensation - both areas that are important to achieving correct exposure, and both subjects that beginners often find a bit baffling.
On the whole though I found it informative and quite easy to read.

I would recommend any Book by Artie Morris google Birds as Art
David Tiplings book is good. google naturescapes and naturephotographers both very good websites. My blog has links to over 400 bird photographers and alot of their sites have recommendations.