• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Is distance the key ? (1 Viewer)

barryj

Hi all
I wonder if anyone can help ?
I'm fairly new to serious Digi SLR photography, but don't seem to get anywhere near the sort of image quality that most people seem to achieve but wonder if I am being too ambitious with distances.
Hardly any of the shots that I look at state the distance the subject was at, I currently have a Nikon D50/Sigma 70-300 and 50-500mm set up
I recently took some shots of a Spotted Crake at about 30 meters and once cropped to a reasonable size they were all pretty ropy.
I was considering buying a tele converter but with such mixed reviews I wonder if I just need to cut down the distance although that's not always possible.
Any advice would be appreciated.
Barry

Getting closer to your subject will always help - the larger the bird is in the frame, the more pixels covered on the sensor; better detail recorded. Having said that, I found with my sigma 50-500 that I could crop in to 2700x1800 pixels or even 1800x1200 pixels and still get a good enough output for viewing on a screen or printing at 9x6" or 6x4" respectively.http://www.birdforum.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/141854/ppuser/28570This was cropped to 2700x1800 before resizing for the web. This one http://www.birdforum.net/gallery/showphoto.php/photo/147774/ppuser/28570 was cropped to 1200x1800. Both shots were taken with the 50-500.