• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Cabela's Euro (1 Viewer)

mljohn

Hi All,

I am new to this form, I have got a ton of useful information from this form, so I feel it is only right I try to give back. As bad as this may hurt. I am not a birder, but I do watch a lot of wildlife and hunt. I wanted to upgrade my binoculars and based on a lot of the information I received here and on other forms and some testing on my own, I purchased 4 commonly recommended bins that I could purchase locally in the 800.00 to 1000.00 range so I could see what worked for me. I did not what to spend that kind of money on something without being to take them home and try them in my environment and keep the one that works best for me.
The 4 bins were
Kahles 10X42
Zeiss Conquest 10X40
Bushnell Elite 10X43
Pentax DCF 10X43 ED

After my testing, the Pentax was my choice and I returned the other 3. I am or was very happy with my choice. I personally am not a big fan of Cabela’s, but my friend just purchased the “Cabela’s Euro 7X42”, and as bad as I hate to say it at $749.99 are noticeably better than my Pentax ED’s We had 6 different people at our lease this weekend check them out and only the one person who has 10X50 ELs had better glass. Everyone else had Bins form $600 to $1200. They beat most most everything and rivaled the high end.