• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Malaria tablets for Ethiopia (1 Viewer)

birdboybowley

Well-known member.....apparently so ;)
England
Hey all,
Off for a 17-day trip next month and am getting conflicting info regarding malaria tablets. I'm assuming I will need them but just wanted to ask past visitors on here what they did.
TIA
Ads

Malarial tablets

Hi BB,
this is a difficult one and I am not a doctor! Recently went for hep. A and the nurse said there was no vaccine available in the UK. We compromised by saying to each other that by now I was probably immune anyway. I have had a few exotic diseases but never malaria. I used to take tablets regularly and as prescribed in those days. I would suggest you forget about tablets because the effective ones are ultra expensive and have the potential for some really bad side effects that might spoil your birding. Use all other preventive methods and never sleep without a net. If you are going into a specific area with recognized cerebral malaria outbreaks then do take the prescribed tablets without fail. You can buy the localised medication throughout Africa now but obviously supply cannot be guaranteed 100%. Surely you will be at altitude anyway for some of the time and other non malarial but mosquito transmitted diseases can be more of a problem for the short term visitor, anyway. Doxycycline will not protect you much from malaria these days but it is cheap when bought locally, and is a temporary prophylaxis against a host of tropical diseases. It also has minimal short term side effects. Finally remember what happened to the researcher