• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Canada, Southern Vancouver Island, Early February, 2016 (1 Viewer)

rbm

Hi everyone. This one might be a little bit tough because the photograph is unfortunately not very good. It was taken from very far away and the bird is looking away from the camera.

So, It might be a good challenge!

I've attached two copies of the same picture. One cropped but otherwise as it came out of the camera. The other with shadows / highlights adjusted in photoshop to see some of the coloring better.

I'm not good with lengths, but the tree trunk it is standing on is probably about half a foot wide. So it's not a very large bird.

Hopefully someone will have a better idea than I do!

Attachments

• unknown_bird.jpg
    unknown_bird.jpg
    524 KB · Views: 97
  • unknown_bird-highlight.jpg
    unknown_bird-highlight.jpg
    120.8 KB · Views: 115
Hi everyone. This one might be a little bit tough because the photograph is unfortunately not very good. It was taken from very far away and the bird is looking away from the camera.

So, It might be a good challenge!

I've attached two copies of the same picture. One cropped but otherwise as it came out of the camera. The other with shadows / highlights adjusted in photoshop to see some of the coloring better.

I'm not good with lengths, but the tree trunk it is standing on is probably about half a foot wide. So it's not a very large bird.

Hopefully someone will have a better idea than I do!

Must be a Giant Hummingbird then.