• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Black-headed Gulls? (1 Viewer)

Pam_m

Hi folks,

I saw these Gulls flying low over my garden and my neighbours gardens this afternoon. I imagine that my neighbour had put out some bread on the lawn as the gulls do not normally fly so close to the house.
I wish they had come down into my garden, it would have been a good species for my BTO count! I toyed with the idea of putting out some bread but firstly I did not have any stale or soaked bread, and secondly if they had left it I would have had to clear it up as we have visits from a hedgehog!

I am not very good at all with Gull ID's but I have checked in the field guide and have decided they are Black-headed Gulls! Can anyone please confirm if I am correct.

Thanks!

Attachments

• P1030206.jpg
    P1030206.jpg
    33 KB · Views: 37
  • P1030209.jpg
    P1030209.jpg
    40.4 KB · Views: 57
Hi Pam,

Yes, BHGs. At this time of year (Winter plumage) look for the dark spot behind the eye. Good shots, well done.

Bill

Those black heads are full of character!

Spent sunday afternoon hand feeding the bhg's tea cakes on the north norfolk coast,more like gannets some of em!

Matt

Thanks Bill, it was the dark spot that helped when I was looking in my field guide! :t:

Matt I have some bread soaking as I type in case they return!!! Sounds fun hand feeding, but I think I will throw mine on the lawn! o:)

Hi Pam,

It's probably not something to try in your garden but if you ever find them in an open area try throwing the bits of bread high in the air, they will quite likely catch them. Great fun.

Bill