• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Sigma Lenses (1 Viewer)

Matt Palmquist

I recently ordered a Pentax K100 D, with the 18-55 kit lens, and the 50-200mm Pentax lens. I will use the camera alot for wildlife photography. I am looking at getting a Sigma 170-500mm. If anyone is familiar with this lens and can comment on it I would appreciate any info. I am new to the dSLR game and have much to learn.

How does this lens compare to the 50-500mm Sigma? Is the few hundred dollars extra worth it to buy this lens?

Thanks,
Matt

There are some other threads mentioning this pair in the various camera sections. Oddly, people seem to prefer the performance of the 50-500 over the 170-500.

Matt

I cant offer any comparisons re-performance but I can say that the 50-500 is a nice bit of kit and well worth the extra cost for the increased focal range, You will definately want to use it on a monopod or tripod though as the lens is a bit of a beast (IMHO)

I cant see the 170-500 being any different performance wise (optically) unless your a pixel peeper, but do consider when you decide that you may miss the shot of a lifetime because the lens is too long at the short end, especially as the lens is equivelent to 255-750 on the DSLR. If you intend to shoot subject at a distance this will present no problems but if something comes nearer you are going to be well and truly stuffed.

I grabbed this with the 50-500
http://www.birdforum.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=71813

Not a brilliant shot I know but the quickest I could link to.

impotentspider said: