• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Brown bird at feeder????? (1 Viewer)

ilisten

Hi,
I'm new to Bird Forum and have been seeing a brown bird at my feeder in western North Carolina, low mountains, meadow area for the last few days.
I can not identify it no matter where I look.
It has lighter feet and legs (not black) a short lighter colored bill (not black and not a thrasher), is about 7 inches (much bigger than a goldfinch) about the size of a towhee but not quite as bulky, has no eye ring, has some black feathers on its back and a short inconspicuous bar of white on its wing feathers that lay across or close to its back. When it flies there are distinct white tail feathers on each side like a mocking bird's tail. The bird is close to that size as well but distinctly BROWN, no chest or belly stripes or white. We saw 4 together this moring and have looked eveery where for this bird's name. We thought it might be a wheatear but it is absolutley not that either.
Can anyone help me? It is not a bobolink and not a female redwing blackbird.
All help appreciated.
Thanks,
ilisten

reply to brown bird at feeder responses

Hi All,
Thanks for trying to help me. The young towhees are cute but definitely
not my bird. Also too much black.
This is a full grown bird, 7 inches at least, well feathered and mostly a rich brown not like cinnamon red, but not like a cat or cowbird either. It is darker than the Rufus Towhee but the color is rich like that.