• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Imac and iphoto (1 Viewer)

John M

Hi,
Can anyone describe to me how to reduce the size of images using iphoto.
This is to reduce the image size so I can post on BF. I use a Canon 20D, 40d,7D and 1Ds Mk111.
It is an imac computer.
Thank you.
John.

Hi John. I have never tried this before but I have just played with an image, so you could give this a go.

Double click on the required image in iPhoto.
If you want to crop it first select Edit at the bottom left of the image and choose the Crop tool. Drag it across and adjust the sides as required and then press the Return key to crop the image.
Click on 'File' in the top bar and then 'Export'.
In the dialogue box pick 'File Export', for Kind select 'JPEG', for Size choose 'Custom', for Max choose 'dimension' and enter 800 px, for File Name select 'Use title'. Then click on Export.
You now have the chance to enter a title for the image and choose where to save it.
If you navigate to the saved image and click on it and go to File then Get Info, you should see the Dimensions which should be 800 pixels on the longest edge.

It is possible that the file size might still be a bit too big to upload to the Gallery. If so, start the Preview application and open the image. Then choose File and Save As. You can then adjust the quality slider until the file size at the bottom of the window is the size you require. Click Save and then Replace or give it a new name if you wish to keep the original file.