• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

I have $1500 to spend on a scope. (1 Viewer)

Arielelf

Hello everyone. I am new to spotting scopes but have been enjoying shore birding this winter and it is apparent that I need a spotting scope. I ended up buying a Vanguard Endevor HD 82mm at a Cabela's on the way back from visiting family in the south. Its seemed fairly nice in the store but after using it outside I discovered that it is terrible at anything over 35-40mm in brighter light. It is very soft and has tons of CA at higher magnifications and is actually easier to make out details at 20x than at 60x. I am sending it back to see if the tech people at Vanguard think it is substandard for that model or not. I think it must be because it gets very good reviews on amazon.

After doing more research I have decided that I might have been a little naive to think that I could get a decent view for $600 so I have decided to step up my budget to $1500. I know that $1500 is low for a good scope but that it the top of my budget right now.

I am leaning towards the Vortex Razor HD 85mm, which seems to get great reviews and have an amazing warranty, even for accidental damage!! But I am worried because the Vanguard got great reviews too.

What I am wondering, is that my best choice or should I go with a used model of a more premium scope? Like a Zeiss Diascope, Nikon EIII, Kowa?

My wife and I both wear glasses so good eye relief is very important.

I am also interested in digiscoping with a M4/3 camera.

Any help would be appreciated!!